This is the "Find Articles (Library Databases)" page of the "Searching Online Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Searching Online Databases  

Can't find what you are looking for? This guide will help you to narrow down which online database to use for your specific information needs.
Last Updated: Jul 1, 2015 URL: http://prhs.sau48.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates
Find Articles (Library Databases) Print Page
  Search: 
 

Current Events

All of our library databases are password protected. Find the passwords.

Locate current events in the following news sources:

  • EBSCO- Student Research Center  
      
    Magazine articles, newspaper articles, tv & radio news transcripts
  • Global Issues  
      
    Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
  • Newsbank  
      
    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.
  • Google News
    from the Associated Press, Reuters, etc.
  • Plymouth Record Enterprise  
      
    Local news

General Reference

All of our library databases are password protected. Find the passwords.

  • EBSCO - Student Research Center  
      
    Locate magazine, newspaper, reference books, tv, radio transcripts.
  • Global Issues  
      
    Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
  • Newsbank & America's Historical Newspapers  
      
    Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts of historical events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I and other eras.
  • Encyclopedia Articles  
      
    Grolier Online information from a variety of reference books including Encyclopedia Americana, the New Book of Knowledge, Lands & Peoples, and other reference books.
  • Issues & Controversies  
      
    In depth investigations of today's top issues. Perfect for research on debate or pro/con topics.

Literary Research

The databases are often password protected. Find the passwords.

Use these links to locate information on literary works and figures.

  • Litfinder  
      
    Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and dramatic works. For students seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, author images and a full glossary of literary terms. From Shakespeare's sonnets to the poetry of Maya Angelou or short stories by Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx.
  • Virtual Reference Library - The Writers Directory  
      
    Current bibliographic, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one publication in English. Entries typically include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography; includes e-mail addresses where available.
  • Contemporary Authors  
      
    Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
  • Knowledge Source: Arts & Humanities  
      
    An reference database providing current, dynamic information on Architecture & Design, Culture, Literature, Multimedia, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion and Visual Arts. Full-text articles are selected from over 700 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
  • EBSCO - On Literature  
      
    Contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. The biographical essays reflect extended coverage of the 2,500 most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author's principal works and current secondary bibliographies.

Science Research

All of our library databases are password protected. Find the passwords.

Locate Science information in these resources:

  • Today's Science  
      
    Science news written especially for students
  • Chemistry Zone  
      
    Chemistry lessons, tutorials, and help
  • Physics Zone  
      
    Physics lessons, tutorials, and help
  • EBSCO - Science Reference Center  
      
    Part of the Student Resource Center- the Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.

Biographical Information

All of our library databases are password protected. Find the passwords.

Locate information about people in these resources:

  • Biography Resource Center  
      
    This database integrates award-winning biographies from respected Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.
  • EBSCO- Student Research Center  
      
    Select Student Resource Center.
    Deselect all links except for Biographies when searching for information about people.
  • Litfinder  
      
    Includes biographies, work summaries, author images and a full glossary of literary terms.
  • Virtual Reference Library - The Writers Directory  
      
    Current bibliographic, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one publication in English. Entries typically include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography; includes e-mail addresses where available.
PRHS Library Hours: Mon-Thurs, 7 AM - 6 PM, Fri 7 AM - 5 PM
Plymouth, NH 03264
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip